Gaelic place name and anglicisation

Ciamar a chanas mi.... / How do I say...
m-sophie
Language Level: A1
Corrections: Please correct my grammar

Gaelic place name and anglicisation

Unread post by m-sophie »

Halò!

A few words about me, to start with: My name is Marie-Sophie and I am a student from Germany and I love learning languages. When I visited Scotland, I made therefore sure, not to go home without a Gaelic Course;)

I am also a writer and I am currently writing a novel which takes place in Scotland. The first few chapters are set in a small village in Northern Scotland (I have a place like Lairg in mind), for which I now need a name. As my story is completely fictional, I want to “design” a believable name, which is also only fictional. On no account, I want to use a real place name.
As my Gaelic is more or less on A1 level at the moment, it is really hard to invent a correct name on my own. Furthermore, my other problem is the question, how to anglicise it in the end.
Could someone help me with that, please?
I am looking for a believable name for a little town in Northern Scotland. Of course, I would like it to have a meaning, but I am not adamant about what exactly it should mean, the word just should sound nice in the end. I am thinking of a description of nature/landscape/surroundings (as I take it, this is the case with most real place names, isn’t it?) or a characterisation of some sort (the town’s people are not especially friendly to the slightly weird protagonist and she is desperate to leave).
And is it right, that I would then need to anglicise the Gaelic word(s)? I have absolutely no idea, how that is done properly. Are there any instructions for that somewhere?
I hope, that someone can help me, how I should start this process.

Thank you very much in advance!

All the best,
Marie-Sophie

GunChleoc
Rianaire
Language Level: Mion-chùiseach

Re: Gaelic place name and anglicisation

Unread post by GunChleoc »