Hàlo..

Cò thusa? / Introduce yourself
Sun
Corrections: I'm fine either way

Hàlo..

Unread post by Sun » Sun Jul 05, 2009 7:34 pm

's mise Sam Brodie, tha mise gu math...

It would be pointless to try and say any more than that lol, i only know random sentences and words anyway and i'll most likely never be able to learn it anyway :P, i'm just a poor 13 year old :(, and i know nobody who speaks Gàidhlig in real life anyway.

*Alasdair*
Language Level: Gu math siubhalachd

Unread post by *Alasdair* » Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:55 pm

Halò, math a bhith a' faicinn daoine òga eile ag ionnsachadh na Gàidhlig :)

Btw, never say never. I started learning a lone when i was 15 and i have just finished the first year of a 4 year degree at Sabhal Mor Ostaig in Skye ;)

AlasdairBochd
Language Level: Fear-ionnsachaidh fad beatha

Unread post by AlasdairBochd » Tue Jul 07, 2009 3:37 am

Cum ort , a bhalaich.

Keep it up. You'll learn it in no time. You're a good age to start and there are many resources about. Good luck and keep coming back.
Check out these links for some starters

http://www.taic.btinternet.co.uk/
http://www.akerbeltz.org/

Sun

Unread post by Sun » Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:50 pm

Thanks :D, by the way, whats my name, Sam Brodie, in gaidhlig? Both are gaidhlig words but if theres a gaidhlig name for Sam then that would be nice.

AlasdairBochd
Language Level: Fear-ionnsachaidh fad beatha

Unread post by AlasdairBochd » Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:37 pm

Samuel is sometimes equated with Somhairle but it is just a similarity of appearance. Somhairle is from Old Norse Somarlidi or Sumarliði - Summer traveller, which was a euphemism for Viking. It is written Sorley in English, and this roughly gives the Gàidhlig pronunciation. Somhairle Mac 'illeathain, Sorley Maclean, is a famous modern Gàidhlig poet.
In the Gàidhlig Bible, Samuel is used.