Black Water

Ciamar a chanas mi.... / How do I say...
Marta
Corrections: I'm fine either way

Black Water

Unread post by Marta »

Hello everyone :)

I am writing a story in which some places need to have Gaelic names and I was wondering if you could help me with tr*nsl*t**n.
The place I'm having a bit of a trouble with is a reservoir called 'Black Water' (Black is a family name in this case).
How should it be called in Gaelic?
Also, would there be any difference in the tr*nsl*t**n if 'black' meant the colour?

I'd really appreciate your help!

Marta
A complete beginner :)

Níall Beag
Rianaire
Language Level: Fluent (non-native)

Re: Black Water

Unread post by Níall Beag »

You wouldn't get a reservoir called that.

Black Water would be the name of a stream.

There's a Blackwater Reservoir in Lochaber, and a Blackwater Dam in New Hampshire in the USA. The Scottish one is fed by a river marked on the map as Black Water. There are various watercourses using this naming, eg the Afton Water in Ayrshire or the Allan Water that flows into the Forth near Stirling, which is Uisge Alain in the Gaelic.

However, as I understand it, the Blackwater Reservoir was initially named in English (I don't believe there was a loch with the same name there previously -- reservoirs built where there was a loch usually retain the existing loch name) and such a name is highly unlikely in Gaelic. Typically a Gaelic river (abhainn) starts at a loch, and is named after the loch -- it is very unusual for a loch to bear the name of any of the rivers or burns feeding into it.

The use of "water" as a lake name is specific to the English of England, and even there it's limited (AFAIK) to the Lake District, where it arises as a replacement for the word-element "mere".
poor_mouse
Language Level: beginner
Corrections: Please correct my grammar

Unread post by poor_mouse »

Marta wrote:... a reservoir called 'Black Water' (Black is a family name in this case).